ImageEver since the day my son was born, one year and twenty days ago, time seems to go by so much faster than it did before he was around. Okay, let me back up here…the day I gave birth and the first three months of colic hell moved like molasses, but after that, the days started to fly. I think about my life before he was born–the neon, shoulder padded 80’s; that awkward transition from a tween to a scrawny teenager; the years I spent at boarding school and college; the ups and downs of my twenties; and settling down with my husband closer to 30. Looking back, there are all kinds of memories; there were some crazy fun times, but like may people, there were lots of struggles too. There were those periods of time that seemed to last forever–ones full of hurt, self-doubt, and sadness.

I think that time started to fly after my son was born because I was able to experience myself differently. Before he arrived, no matter how hard I tried and despite the crazy fun times, genuine self-acceptance and self-love were my biggest challenges. I’m not saying that I have an easy job patting myself on the back now or recognizing my strengths, but it is easier than before and I’m happier. My son is this indisputably amazing, living, breathing proof that I created something wonderful. And every time he makes a funny face or laughs or opens his eyes wide with wonder, I accept and love myself more knowing that I was part of making this beautiful boy.

Elizabeth Stone articulateImages my feeling more eloquently in her quote: “Making the decision to have a child is momentous. It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body.” He is the best thing I have ever done in my 32 years.

 

